May 12, 2007

F1 Quals: Barcelona (the abbreviated version)

Wow, prepare yourself for a shock here... THERE'S A FERRARI ON POLE!

Oh, wait, that's not a shock at all. That's four for four for the red team, three of four for Felipe Massa. Fernando Alonso missed pole in his home race by +.030 of a second... three HUNDREDTH of a second. That's absolutlely nothing: touching the brakes an instant too early at the first turn. Turning a smidge late at the final chicane. Running a bit wide of the line thru a turn... ANY of those things could account for 3/100th of a second. Amazing. And, considering the history of this track, one of those two is your likely winner.

Raikkonen was less than .300 behind Alonso, and Hamilton was .062 behind Kimi. Look, lets face it: these four cars have the same performance levels, and the drivers are all about equal to boot... and one of them will win the Driver's Championship. Choose one, and I won't disagree. I suppose Alonso has got to have a slightly better chance, since he's won the championship twice and knows what it takes, but what's that worth? One championship point, maybe?

Unless something happens (McLaren's nose wing gets them DQ'd, Ferrari suddenly discovers that their gearbox likes to jump from 7th gear to reverse), this is what we'll be looking at all season long.

The rest of the bunch:
5. Robert Kubica BMW 1:22.253
6. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1:22.324
7. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1:22.389
8. Heikki Kovalainen Renault 1:22.568
9. David Coulthard's Chin Red Bull-Renault 1:22.749
10. Giancarlo Fisichella Renault 1:22.881
11. Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 1:21.968
12. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1:22.097
13. Takuma Sato Super Aguri-Honda 1:22.115 (note: SuperSato had a malfunction of some sort in Q2, and turned ONE hot lap... and still outqualified both factory Hondas)
14. Jenson Button Honda 1:22.120
15. Anthony Davidson Super Aguri-Honda No Time
16. Vitantonio Liuzzi Toro Rosso-Ferrari No Time
17. Ralf Schumacher Toyota 1:22.666
18. Alexander Wurz Williams-Toyota 1:22.769
19. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:23.398
20. Adrian Sutil Spyker-Ferrari 1:23.811
21. Christijan Albers Spyker-Ferrari 1:23.990
22. American Scott Speed Toro Rosso-Ferrari No Time

See ya post-race!

Posted by: Wonderduck at 11:09 AM | Comments (1) | Add Comment
Post contains 359 words, total size 2 kb.

1 I'm liking the McLaren - Ferrari dominance. Wouldn't it be awesome if Lewis Hamilton won the championship? Has anyone ever done that in their rookie year?

Scott certainly wasn't Speedy, was he?

Posted by: Mallory at May 12, 2007 11:10 PM (iLcnv)

Hide Comments | Add Comment

Comments are disabled. Post is locked.
23kb generated in CPU 0.012, elapsed 0.2483 seconds.
47 queries taking 0.2401 seconds, 234 records returned.
Powered by Minx 1.1.6c-pink.