March 17, 2009

New F1 Driver's Championship Format!

In a surprise move, the FIA decided to change the format for the Driver's Championship.  Instead of the driver with the most points winning the championship, now it'll be the driver with the most wins (in the event of a tie, points will be the tiebreaker).

Under this system, Felipe Massa would have won the 2008 championship over Lewis Hamilton, six wins to five.

Other than the champion, points will decide all the other positions.  In theory, this could mean that the champion could have fewer points than drivers behind him. 

Consider this possibility:
Driver A has eight wins but the rest of his races are DNFs, for 80 points.
Driver B has zero wins, but 18 third-place finishes... for 108 points.
Driver C has seven wins, and eleven seconds... for 158 points.

Under this new system, Driver A is the champion, even though Driver C had a much better season, and Driver B's season would be one for the history books as well. 

Funny, didn't we hear something like this plan from Ferrari at the end of 2008?

Posted by: Wonderduck at 10:25 PM | Comments (3) | Add Comment
Post contains 184 words, total size 1 kb.

1 It could backfire on Ferrari, if Brawn comes out and has a hot first half of the season.

Posted by: Steven Den Beste at March 17, 2009 10:32 PM (+rSRq)


Hmmm...wonder who thought that one up?  Could his name have been Filipe?



Posted by: Mallory at March 18, 2009 06:51 AM (3sife)

3 The points system has been messed up ever since the FIA reduduced the number of points between first and second in order to stem the tide of Michael Schumacher championships. I think everyone just wanted to go back to the old system, not some crazy new one. I still firmly believe that the most consistant driver should win the champonship. I'd love to see Massa win one, but while he had a nice number of wins last season, the ones he didn't win were frequently dismal (Valencia comes to mind). I love the fact that the championship has "closed up" in recent seasons with more drivers in the running late in the season. The fact that it's been decided two years in a row at the final race (or final turn!) is awesome. I'll be thrilled if it's a four or five team race for wins this year!

Posted by: madmike at March 19, 2009 10:15 AM (mV2q+)

Hide Comments | Add Comment

Comments are disabled. Post is locked.
23kb generated in CPU 0.03, elapsed 0.118 seconds.
53 queries taking 0.0997 seconds, 272 records returned.
Powered by Minx 1.1.6c-pink.